Replica edition News Obituaries Best of Siloam Springs Winners Distribution Locations Sports Business Opinion Religion Photos Special Sections Contact Us Email Updates

Ramey chosen as 2023 Pioneer Citizen

by From Staff Reports | January 18, 2023 at 11:27 a.m.

Retired Superintendent Ken Ramey will be the recipient of the 2023 Pioneer Citizen Award, the Siloam Springs Chamber of Commerce announced Friday, Jan. 6.

Ramey will be honored at the annual Chamber banquet planned for Thursday, Feb. 2, at Camp Siloam.

The Chamber of Commerce has been presenting Pioneer Citizen awards to community members. who lead with their heart, face new challenges and pave the way for new frontiers since 1984.

In order to be considered for the award by the Pioneer Citizen committee, nominees must be residents of Siloam Springs for at least 10 years, be at least 65 years old and be heavily involved, past or present, in various activities or committees of the City of Siloam Springs, Main Street Siloam Springs or the Chamber of Commerce.

Past recipients of the Pioneer Citizen Award include:

• 2009 – Delbert "Pete" Allen and Janice Mounger

• 2010 – Walter Gray and Donetta Samuels

• 2011 – Chandler "Bub" Gunter and Art Morris

• 2012 – Lloyd Fagan and Bep Morrison

• 2013 – Bob Wasson and Mary Benjamin

• 2014 – Louie Thomas, James Fuller (posthumously) and Linda Brown

• 2015 – Mike Moss and Mark Simmons

• 2016 – Sid Townsend and Suellen Coleman Chase

• 2017 – Jerry Cavness and Judy Omo

• 2018 – Hank Harrison and Shirley Dilbeck

• 2019 – Bob and Cathi Coleman and Raquel Beck

• 2020 – Dick Bolen, Larry Winder (posthumously) and Diane Winder.

• 2021 – Craig Taylor and John Mark and Kathy Turner.

• 2022 - Mary Nolan.

Print Headline: Ramey chosen as 2023 Pioneer Citizen


Sponsor Content


Recommended for you